America Hates Women and Minorities and Now We Have Presidential Proof

It’s 1:40 in the morning on November 9, 2016, and I’m sitting in my bed crying. I’m sitting in my bed crying for all of the families who are going to suffer from this election. I’m crying for the members of the LGBT community who won so much over the past few years and are now terrified because the leader of their country hates them and thinks that being gay can be fixed with conversion therapy. I’m crying for the children of immigrants who came to this country for a better life and are now asking their teachers if their parents are going to be okay; if their families will be deported.

I am crying because on November 8, 2016, America exercised its right to vote and it chose hate. It chose to ignore the cries of people of color, of members of the LGBT community, of women, of minorities. It chose hatred and rage over equality. America chose a rapist to sit in the highest office of our nation over a woman.

I hear you, America.

I hear your hatred.

I sit here, tears streaming down my face, legs crossed as I think about the millions of women just like me who rose up and spoke out and were slapped down and treated like they have no importance in this society. I cry for women.

I cry for people of color and immigrants. I cry for everyone who is scared that America is no longer a safe place for you to call home.I hear your voices, too, and I want you to know that I love you.I want you to know that if you’re crying too, that it’s okay.I want you to know that those of us who stood with you today will continue to stand with you over the next four years.

And I want to look at the people who voted for Trump. I want to look at the people who voted for Johnson. I want to look at the people who filled in Harambe’s name for president.

I want them to see the tears on my face, the anguish in my eyes, and the absolute disgust on my tongue.

This was caused by you.

You could have made a difference tonight.

You could have looked at the millions of Americans who will suffer under Trump’s rule and voted to change that.

You were selfish. You were ignorant. You were cruel.

And I blame you.

I don’t hate you. I’m disappointed in you. I’m astounded by you. I am shocked by you. Look at the tears on my face. Look at the tears on the faces of your daughters, your black and Muslim neighbors, your LGBTQA coworkers.

These are your fault.

—–

Photo Credit 

Leave a Reply

